012-herfst-mechelen-20131020.jpg

The Cells

In the shadow of St Rumbold's Tower is a unique historical monument. 'De Cellekens' was originally a charitable institution which took in needy women without a family to care for them.

The three wings form a U-shape around the magnificent enclosed garden. The convent building is in the middle and left and right are little houses with round arched doors built in 1854. Originally each door provided access to two small rooms with bed, cupboard, chair and table. The institution derives its name from these little 'cells'.

'De Cellekens' was empty for a long time but then the new owners, artist Mariette Teugels and her photographer husband Herman Smet, restored the building. They were rewarded for their efforts with the Europa Nostra Prize. You can see some of Mariette Teugels' work in the new garden. The artist specializes in busts and sculptures of animals and the human figure.

The building The Cells is not accessible to visitors.

Comfort

Accessibility

Services

Where?

Minderbroedersgang 12, Mechelen